Stan Walker and Avantdale Bowling Club’s Tom Scott are leading nominations for the 2024 Aotearoa Music Awards.

Walker (Tūhoe, Ngāi Te Rangi, Ngāti Porou) is up for five awards, including Best Solo Artist, Best Māori Artist, and the Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo award, which recognises albums or singles with at least 50 per cent te reo Māori content.

He is also nominated for Spotify’s Album of the Year and Single of the Year awards alongside Scott, who is a finalist in eight categories.

Scott’s nominations are evenly split between his work on both Avantdale Bowling Club’s TREES and Homebrew’s album Run It Back. Three of these nominations are in the same categories, including for Best Hip Hop Artist.

Indie rock darlings The Beths are finalists in three categories this year, including the coveted Best Group award.

They share this nomination with Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Tiny Ruins, LEISURE, and Mermaidens — the latter of which have also earned nods for Best Alternative and Spotify Single of the Year awards.

Marlon Williams is being recognised for his self-directed music video for Don’t Go Back with a nomination for Best Music Video Content, alongside three other nominations, and 2023 Taite Music Prize winner Princess Chelsea is a finalist for three awards, including Best Alternative and Best Solo Artist.

Auckland singer-songwriter Aaradhna is also nominated ahead of the release of her first album in eight years. She’s up for Best Soul/RnB Artist — a genre she helped create in 2016 when she regifted her Best Urban/Hip Hop award to SWIDT.

The Aotearoa Music Awards took a break in 2023 following a review the previous year.

Recorded Music New Zealand chief executive Jo Oliver says it’s special to be back with a fresh format this year, including two connected ceremonies: the opening ceremony and showcase.

“It was important for us to engage with artists and the wider music community about the format, purpose, and meaning of AMA,” Oliver says.

“The message from the community was clear: the Aotearoa Music Awards is seen as essential, and aspirational for emerging artists.

“We heard strong support for our continuing commitment to embed te ao Māori and te reo and to reflect the unique cultural identity of Aotearoa. We also heard that more clarity was needed around the judging criteria and processes.

“We took the time to do that work and have taken steps to more actively promote diversity and inclusion across the judging process and the event.”

“Congratulations to all the finalists … we are so lucky to have such a wide range of remarkably talented artists and behind-the-scenes specialists in Aotearoa.”

The 2024 Aotearoa Music Awards will take place on Thursday 30 May at Auckland’s Viaduct Events Centre. RNZ is the official media partner for the awards and will be streaming live video of the awards ceremony across multiple platforms on the night.

2024 Aotearoa Music Awards – full list of finalists:

Te Tino Pukaemi o te Tau, Album of the Year

  • Avantdale Bowling Club – TREES
  • Erny Belle – Not Your Cupid
  • Home Brew – Run It Back
  • LEISURE – Leisurevision
  • Marlon Williams – My Boy
  • Paige – King Clown
  • Princess Chelsea – Everything Is Going To Be Alright
  • Stan Walker – All In
  • The Beths – Expert in a Dying Field
  • Tiny Ruins – Ceremony
  • Unknown Mortal Orchestra – V
  • Te Tino Waiata o te Tau | Single of the Year
  • Aaradhna – SHE
  • Avantdale Bowling Club – Friday Night At The Liquor Store
  • Corrella – Blue Eyed Māori
  • COTERIE – Always Beside You (ft. Six60)
  • Fazerdaze – Bigger
  • Home Brew – Run It Back
  • Kaylee Bell – Boots ‘N All
  • L.A.B – Take It Away
  • Marlon Williams – Don’t Go Back
  • Mermaidens – I Like To Be Alone
  • Stan Walker – I AM
  • The Beths – Watching The Credits

Te Tino Kāhui Manu Taki o te Tau, Best Group

  • The Beths
  • Home Brew
  • Mermaidens
  • Tiny Ruins
  • Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Te Tino Reo o te Tau, Best Solo Artist

  • Avantdale Bowling Club
  • Fazerdaze
  • Kaylee Bell
  • Marlon Williams
  • Princess Chelsea
  • Stan Walker

Te Manu Taki Māori o te Tau, Best Māori Artist

  • Jordyn with a Why
  • MOHI
  • Rei
  • Stan Walker
  • Tuari Brothers

Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo Award

  • COTERIE – Purea/Cool It Down
  • Jordyn with a Why – He Rei Niho
  • MOHI – Me Pēhea Ra
  • Stan Walker – I AM
  • TAWAZ – He Aho
  • Tuari Brothers – Tuari ki te Ao

Te Taumata o te Toi Best Album Artwork

  • Andrew McLeod – The Coin That Broke The Fountain Floor (Clementine Valentine)
  • Lily Paris West – Mermaidens (Mermaidens)
  • Lily Paris West – Expert In A Dying Field (The Beths)

Te Manu Taki Whanokē o te Tau, Best Alternative Artist

  • Grecco Romank
  • Mermaidens
  • Princess Chelsea

Te Manu Taki Tuauki o te Tau Best Classical Artist

  • Michael Houstoun & Bella Hristova
  • Natasha Te Rupe-Wilson & Somi Kim
  • New Zealand String Quartet

Te Manu Taki Tuawhenua o te Tau Best Country Artist

  • Kaylee Bell
  • Matt Joe Gow
  • The Mitchell Twins

Te Manu Taki Tāhiko o te Tau, Best Electronic Artist

Te Taumata o te Pūkenga Oro, Best Engineer

  • Amelia Murray & Emily WheatcroftSnape – Break! (Fazerdaze)
  • Simon Gooding – King Clown (Paige)
  • Tom Healy & Alexandra Corbett – My Boy (Marlon Williams)

Te Manu Taki Ahurea o te Tau, Best Folk Artist

  • Adam McGrath
  • Terrible Sons
  • Tom Lark

By Jogai Bhatt of